Library and Site of interest
The Palazzo dell’Annunziata is an imposing Rococo-style building, built in 1735 by Dominican monks who moved there in 1748, even though the building was still partially incomplete at the time. The church inside the building was only completed in 1844, and the convent was closed after the anti-subversion laws of 1866. The City Registrar’s Office, the courthouse and public schools took over the premises of the convent and the Mutual Aid Society was housed in the church which was later converted into a cinema. The building was restored in 1997, but has been home to the Provincial Library since 1933, and is recognised as the fourth most important library in Italy, for the sheer number of volumes it houses and for its importance in terms of book heritage. The library is named after the local poet and writer Tommaso Stigliani, courtier in Naples of the Prince of Conca, and esteemed by Torquato Tasso, with whom he formed a deep friendship. It currently boasts a collection of books, which can be consulted online, amounting to over 250,000 volumes, of which over 30,000 are part of the library’s rare book collection. One of the rooms is named after the local philosopher Eustachio Paolo Lamanna who was Chancellor of the University of Florence and gold medal winner for his achievements in education, culture and art. The room houses his personal library.